Roswell Marijuana Lawyer
While it has been legalized in other states, or at least decriminalized in others, marijuana is still a controlled substance here in Georgia, and even possession of small amounts, such as a joint or a package of edibles containing THC, can result in large fines, land you in jail, and cause you to lose your job. The Hawkins Spizman law firm and a highly experienced Roswell marijuana lawyer can help you beat these charges and keep you out of jail.
Is any Form of Marijuana Legal in Georgia?
According to DISA, Georgia is one of only 11 states in which marijuana is either fully illegal, or only CBD oil—the non psychoactive chemical in marijuana—is permitted. In Georgia’s case, the latter is true: CBD oil is allowed, but marijuana is not. However, for people with certain conditions and who have been granted medical access, “low THC oil” is also permitted. This low THC oil must contain less than 5 percent THC by volume, according to § 16-12-190, otherwise it is considered illegal to possess.
Offense for Possession of Marijuana
Any amount of marijuana possession can lead to time behind bars.
- Misdemeanor—Possessing less than one ounce of marijuana. Penalties include up to 12 months in jail and a fine of $1,000.
- Felony—Possessing more than one ounce of marijuana. Penalties include mandatory 12 months in prison, up to 10 years in prison, and a maximum fine of $5,000.
Possession with Intent to Distribute
Possession with intent to distribute is an even more serious offense than possession.
- Under 10 pounds of marijuana—Mandatory sentence is one year. 10 year maximum prison sentence, and a maximum fine of $5,000.
- 10 to 2,000 pounds of marijuana—Mandatory sentence is five years. 30 year maximum prison sentence, and a maximum fine of $100,000.
- 2000 to 10,000 pounds of marijuana—Mandatory sentence is seven years. 30 year maximum prison sentence, and a maximum fine of $250,000.
- Over 10,000 pounds of marijuana—Mandatory sentence is 15 years. 30 year maximum prison sentence, and a maximum fine of $1,000,000.
Possession of Hash and Concentrates
- Possession of less than 1 gram of solid substance or less than 1 milliliter of liquid substance—Felony. Minimum one year in prison with a maximum sentence of three years and a $5,000 fine.
- Possession of over 1 gram but less than 4 grams of solid substance or over 1 milliliter but less than 4 milliliters of liquid substance—Felony. Minimum one year in prison with a maximum sentence of eight years and a $5,000 fine.
Other Marijuana Offenses
- Sale or Delivery;
- Trafficking Across State Boundary;
- Marijuana DUI;
- Possession of Hash or Concentrates; and
- Marijuana Paraphernalia Possession.
Contact a Roswell Marijuana Lawyer Today
There is no marijuana offense that will work itself out on its own; any arrest is serious, and can devastate your future if you do not take immediate action by contacting a Roswell marijuana lawyer with experience handling these charges. We encourage you to contact Hawkins Spizman today at 770-685-6400 to schedule a free consultation.