Alpharetta Marijuana Lawyer
Marijuana possession is still illegal in the state of Georgia. Depending on how much you allegedly had on your possession, you could be facing a misdemeanor or felony charge. Do not take any marijuana offense lightly. The penalties you are facing can have serious ramifications for years to come. It is in your best interest to speak to a Hawkins Spizman Alpharetta marijuana lawyer to discuss your legal defense.
Possession of Marijuana
- Less than one ounce—Misdemeanor, including jail time of up to 12 months and a fine of up to $1,000.
- More than one ounce—Felony, including a mandatory 12 months in prison, and up to 10 years in prison, as well as a fine of up to $5,000.
Many first time misdemeanor marijuana possession offenders do not face any serious jail time. However, this is in part due to acquiring legal representation. You are much more likely to only receive a “slap on the wrist” if you work with an experienced Alpharetta criminal defense lawyer.
Possession with Intent to Sell
Possession with intent to distribute (sell) is a felony. If you are found with a certain amount of marijuana in your possession, the law assumes that it was not simply for your own personal use. Below are the categories of punishment you could be facing if you were arrested for possession with intent to distribute, according to NORML:
- Under ten pounds—Mandatory prison sentence of one year, up to 10 years, with a maximum fine of $5,000.
- 10 to 2,000 pounds—Mandatory prison sentence of five years, up to 30 years, with a maximum fine of $100,000.
- 2000to 10,000 pounds—Mandatory prison sentence of seven years, up to 30 years, with a maximum fine of $250,000.
- More than 10,000 pounds—Mandatory prison sentence of 15 years, up to 30 years, with a maximum fine of $1,000,000.
Additionally, if the arrest occurred within 1,000 feet of a school, park, housing project, or drug free zone, the mandatory minimum, regardless of marijuana possession with intent to distribute, is five years in prison, with a maximum sentence of 40 years and $40,000 in fines.
Under § 40-6-391, it is illegal to drive under the influence of a controlled substance, such as marijuana. A first time marijuana DUI offender will lose their license for at least six months, in addition to potential jail time of 12 months and fines.
Other Serious Marijuana Offenses
We handle all other types of marijuana offenses, including the following:
- Sale or Delivery;
- Trafficking Across State Boundary;
- Possession of Hash or Concentrates; and
- Marijuana Paraphernalia Possession.
Call an Alpharetta Marijuana Lawyer Today
Marijuana is considered a controlled substance in Georgia, meaning that you can be arrested for any amount in your possession. Never assume that you will be given a light sentence and sent on your way as if nothing serious happened. Prosecutors and courts are keen on making examples out of anyone that happens to fall in their laps. Protect yourself by calling a Alpharetta marijuana lawyer at Hawkins Spizman today at 770-685-6400 to schedule a free consultation.