Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Atlanta Criminal Defense Lawyers > Dunwoody DUI Lawyer

Dunwoody DUI Lawyer

Being arrested for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a serious matter. Your job and driving privileges could potentially vanish in the blink of an eye, not to mention your reputation and future prospects. Here at Hawkins Spizman, our Dunwoody DUI lawyers understand what you have on the line.

What are the BAC Limits in Georgia?

It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or more, assuming you are 21 years or older. For young drivers under the age of 21, a BAC of 0.02 or greater is against the law and can result in a DUI. Similarly, the BAC limit is lower for commercial drivers. A 21-year-old or older commercial driver with a BAC of 0.04 or greater can be arrested for driving under the influence. To put these numbers in perspective, two drinks in 40 minutes or less would cause a 120 pound woman to have a BAC of 0.08 and fail a breathalyzer test. A 180 pound man would be over the legal BAC driving limit with just three drinks, according to BRAD.

The Consequences of Being Convicted of Driving Under the Influence

30 percent of all Georgia motor vehicle fatalities are caused by drunk drivers, according to Bankrate. Because the dangers of driving drunk have been so well understood for so long, state laws reflect the seriousness of the crime. A first DUI offense will result in a minimum of 24 hours in jail. Although, convicted DUI offenders can face up to a year behind bars. The fines for a first DUI offense range from $300 to $1,000 and a license suspension of one year. Of course, the offender’s auto insurance rates will rise as well.

A second offense within ten years involves a minimum three-day jail sentence, and up to a year behind bars. Fines are $600 to $1,000, and the license suspension is up to three years long. Additionally, a second offense within ten years means you will have to install a breathalyzer ignition interlock system in your vehicle. A third offense within ten years: Minimum of 15 days in jail (up to a year), a $1,000 to $5,000 fine, and a five-year license revocation. A fourth offense within ten years is a felony, which involves at least 12 months in jail and a maximum jail sentence of five years.

How an Attorney Can Help

There are a variety of directions we might be able to take your case. The most common include proving that the breathalyzer BAC test was inaccurate, uncovering an error in the police report, and discovering other police procedural mistakes. An attorney can help fight the charges set against you, and work with the prosecution and court to decrease the penalties you are facing.

Contact a Dunwoody DUI Lawyer Today

If you were arrested for a DUI, you need to seek legal help immediately. A skilled Dunwoody DUI lawyer can help you beat the charges or reduce your sentence and fines. You are not alone in this. Call 770-685-6400 to schedule a no-cost consultation with a Hawkins Spizman today.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn