Johns Creek DUI Lawyer
A DUI conviction means more than just a fine and a night in jail. If convicted, your license will be suspended or revoked, you may have to install an ignition interlock system in your vehicle, you may be required to do community service and/or take a substance abuse course or evaluation, and, of course, you will have a criminal record for life, making it difficult to get a new job. The legal team at Hawkins Spizman can help you avoid a worst case scenario DUI conviction, and keep your life from being derailed. A Johns Creek DUI lawyer can help you recover from this unfortunate incident
Penalties for Drunk Driving in Georgia
Below are some of the consequences of a DUI conviction:
- Fines ranging between $300 and $5,000;
- Minimum 24 hours in jail;
- Maximum five years in prison if convicted of a DUI felony;
- 12 months probation;
- Substance abuse evaluation;
- Substance abuse course;
- Installation of an ignition interlock system on the offender’s vehicle; and
- Much higher auto insurance premiums.
These penalties are dependent on the number of times you have been convicted of a DUI in the last ten years. For example, an ignition interlock is only mandatory on an individual’s second DUI. A DUI only becomes a felony, with a maximum five year prison sentence, after the fourth DUI conviction. However, even a first time DUI conviction creates a heavy burden, with many offenders losing their jobs and finding it difficult to procure future employment due to the stigma surrounding drunk drivers.
DUI Resulting in Injury or Death
As per Georgia § 40-6-394, a drunk driver who causes bodily harm to another party commits the crime of Serious Injury by Vehicle, which is a felony. If convicted, the minimum prison sentence is one year, while the maximum sentence is 15 years. Drunk drivers are responsible for 24 percent of all traffic fatalities in Georgia. Felony vehicular homicide, which occurs when an intoxicated driver takes the life of another, also carries a potential 15 year prison sentence, and convicted offenders can usually expect to serve multiple years behind bars.
BAC Limits Per Driver Category
Different categories of drivers have varying legal BACs (Blood Alcohol Contents).
- 21 years old or older—Illegal threshold is 0.08 percent or greater.
- Under 21—Illegal threshold is 0.02 percent or greater.
- Commercial vehicle driver—0.04 or greater.
Call a Johns Creek DUI Lawyer Today
Choosing to work with an experienced Johns Creek DUI lawyer will greatly improve your chances of avoiding the most severe penalties for driving under the influence. We may be able to prove that the breathalyzer or field sobriety test was performed incorrectly. Law enforcement may not have had probable cause to pull you over in the first place. Here at Hawkins Spizman, a Johns Creek DUI lawyer will work with you to create a defense specifically tailored to your case. Call us today at 770-685-6400 to schedule a free consultation.