Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Atlanta Criminal Defense Lawyers > Blog > DUI > Cheerleader Killed In DUI Crash

Cheerleader Killed In DUI Crash


It’s always devastating when a young person loses their life in a car accident, especially one that could have been prevented. Sadly, a popular high school cheerleader was recently killed in a solo-vehicle crash caused by intoxication.

A 16-year-old girl was killed in a car accident on October 29. The solo-vehicle crash occurred on Sugarloaf Parkway in Lawrenceville. She was a junior at Mill Creek High School.

The girl was a passenger sitting in the front seat of a pickup truck heading north on Sugarloaf Parkway, toward State Route 316. The driver, a 21-year-old man, hit a concrete barrier.

There were eight occupants inside the vehicle. The girl died at the accident scene. The driver was hospitalized with minor injuries. Two others were injured and taken to a local hospital.

The girl was passionate about cheer and adored her friends and family. A GoFundMe page was created on her behalf.

The driver has been charged with driving under the influence, first-degree vehicular homicide, and failure to maintain lane. His identity has not been released. The crash is still under investigation.

Vehicular Homicide

Second-degree vehicular homicide in Georgia consists of unintentionally causing someone else’s death while committing a general traffic offense. It is typically a misdemeanor. Some common traffic offenses that could lead to misdemeanor vehicular homicide in Georgia are:

  • Running a red light
  • Failure to stop at a stop sign
  • Failure to yield the right of way
  • Speeding
  • Driving too fast for conditions
  • Distracted driving
  • Failure to maintain lane

Vehicular homicide can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances. A person can be charged with first-degree homicide if they are a habitual violator. The punishment is 3-15 years in prison. For a misdemeanor charge, a person can face up to one year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.

A conviction for vehicular homicide in Georgia also leads to driver’s license suspension. For a misdemeanor vehicular homicide, the maximum license suspension is 12 months. For a felony vehicular homicide charge, the suspension is increased to three years.

Besides criminal punishment, a person convicted of vehicular homicide may also face a civil suit from the victim’s family. The judge could award damages such as pain and suffering to the victim’s family. A person can face both a civil suit and a criminal case.

Contact Us Today

A Georgia DUI offense can result in significant consequences. You could face fines, license suspension, jail time, and even felony charges if the accident resulted in fatality.

Discuss your case with a DeKalb County DUI lawyer from Hawkins Spizman Trial Lawyers. We represent defendants throughout Georgia. Hire our team with confidence, knowing that we’ll do everything we can to represent your interests and protect your legal rights.

Call our office at 770-685-6400 or fill out the online form to schedule a free consultation. The firm serves Georgia, including Atlanta, Dunwoody, Alpharetta, Cobb County, Fulton County, Gwinnett County, Johns Creek, and Sandy Springs.



Facebook Twitter LinkedIn