5 Common Questions About DUI In Georgia
It is probably not your best day when the police pull you over and charge you with a DUI. Each state in the nation has laws for drunk driving and the state of Georgia is no different. When you are arrested and charged with DUI in Georgia, the severity of your penalties will vary based on the details of your case. For example, even a first-time offender with a fairly low blood alcohol concentration (BAC) but still over the legal limit of .08% is likely to face punishment because the state takes drunk driving very seriously. But, a person that has had many DUI arrests and convictions, especially if their BAC is much higher, will be subject to more significant negative penalties.
If you are arrested for a DUI, whether it is your first time or a repeat offense, you may still have questions about what you can do to overcome your charges and obtain the best possible outcome. Certainly, no matter how many times you have been arrested for a DUI in Georgia, you need skilled and knowledgeable legal representation. The DeKalb County DUI attorneys at Hawkins Spizman Trial Attorneys offer strategic and resourceful legal counsel and know how to get results for the clients they represent.
Most Common Georgia DUI Questions
When someone consults with the Georgia criminal defense law firm at Hawkins Spizman Trial Attorneys, depending on their charges, they are likely to have questions. Often, people facing similar charges have many of the same questions. If you have been arrested for DUI in Georgia, consider the following common answers to the most frequently asked questions:
- When is a DUI A felony?
- If you have four DUI arrests in 10 years, that fourth will be charged as a felony offense. Felony penalties are much harsher than misdemeanors. Felony DUI charges in Georgia may mean you will have to serve time in state prison for as long as five years.
- How harsh are penalties for first-time offenders of DUI conviction in Georgia?
- At least 24 hours in jail for individuals with illegal BAC measurements over .08% to as long as 12 months in jail. Additionally, you will be required to serve the balance on probation and required to pay monthly probation fees. Also, fines can be as high as $1,000;l you will need to complete a minimum of 40 hours of community service, obtain a clinical evaluation, and attend the 20-hour “Risk Reduction Program” (DUI School) and pay for it yourself with these programs costing hundreds of dollars. And perhaps or equal importance, your license can be suspended for one year. The lawyers at Hawkins Spizman may be able to pursue assisting you in obtaining a limited permit depending on your case.
- Can a Georgia DUI conviction be expunged?
- Do I need a DUI attorney?
- Yes. It is a huge mistake to try to handle a DUI charge without a lawyer in Georgia. The stakes are too high for your career, your reputation, and your liberty.
- What is the legal limit for BAC in Georgia?
- In Georgia, non-commercial drivers over the age of 21 can have no more than a .08% BAC, while commercial drivers may have no more than .04% BAC. Under 21 drivers have a legal limit of .02% BAC.
Speak to a Georgia DUI Attorney Today
Mike Hawkins has taught DUI defense to lawyers and judges across the country and is Board Certified in DUI Defense as recognized by the American Bar Association. For help fighting your Georgia DUI charges, you can call the Atlanta criminal defense attorneys at Hawkins Spizman Trial Attorneys to schedule a free consultation at 770-685-6400.
Hawkins Spizman Trial Attorneys represent individuals charged with DUIs in Georgia including Atlanta, Dunwoody, Alpharetta, Cobb County, Fulton County, Gwinnett County, Johns Creek, and Sandy Springs.