Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Atlanta Criminal Defense Lawyers > Blog > Underage DUI > Why Age Matters For A Georgia DUI Arrest

Why Age Matters For A Georgia DUI Arrest


It is well known how dangerous impaired driving can be. This is true for drivers that are both of legal age to drink and underage as well. If you are not of the legal drinking age in Georgia, which is the age of 21, or if you have children that are underage, it is imperative that you understand how age affects a DUI arrest.

If you were arrested for an underage DUI or if your child is facing a DUI charge, then it is critical that you connect with an experienced DeKalb County underage DUI lawyer at Hawkins Spizman. To best position yourself to overcome your charges, working with an attorney that knows the Georgia criminal justice system and how it treats underage individuals that get behind the wheel with alcohol in their system is necessary. The talented legal team at Hawkins Spizman Trial Lawyers is here for you and can help.

Georgia’s Zero Tolerance Policy

There are “legal limits” to how much alcohol a driver who is legally able to drink can consume and then drive. Drunk driving is illegal for all drivers. For drivers that are not of legal age to consume alcohol who are under the age of 21, Georgia’s zero-tolerance laws are something to take seriously. Under the state’s zero-tolerance system, a driver that is pulled over and found to have alcohol in their system should expect to face serious and harsh penalties.

Unlike drivers that are of legal age who are allowed to have alcohol in their system as long as they do not have a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or more, drivers under the age of 21 should not have any alcohol in their system. And even if a test shows that an underage person who is driving has a BAC that is only a bit more than .02% they are likely going to face punishments in accordance with the law. This is different from a driver that is of legal drinking age who, in the same situation, would not likely face any type of penalty.

Also, the more underage DUI arrests and convictions a young driver has, the stricter the penalties are. Consider the following:

First-time Offense: 20 hours of community service, six months of suspended driver’s license, fines no less than $300 but up to $1,000.

Second-time Offense: 72 hours at least behind bars, 240 hours of community service, one year suspended driver’s license, a minimum $600 fine up to $1,000.

Third-time Offense: At least 15 days in jail, 240 hours of community service, as many as five years with a license revocation, and fines starting at $1,000 up to $5,000.

Speak with a DeKalb County Underage DUI Attorney Today

The risk of jail time and expensive fines not to mention license suspension are nothing to take lightly. After an underage DUI arrest in Atlanta, equip yourself with the best legal counsel possible to fight your charges. The Atlanta underage DUI attorneys at Hawkins Spizman can meet with you to discuss your case during a free case evaluation. Call today to schedule yours at 770-685-6400.

Hawkins Spizman Trial Attorneys represent individuals in Georgia including Atlanta, Dunwoody, Alpharetta, Cobb County, Fulton County, Gwinnett County, Johns Creek, and Sandy Springs.



Facebook Twitter LinkedIn